The Pearcy/Gratzmiller Jazz Quintet – Over the Edge (2018)

Available now!  Released October 12, 2018

Wayne Pearcy – trumpet
Aaron Gratzmiller – tenor, alto and soprano sax
Matt Savage – piano
Greg Toro – bass
Fabio Rojas – drums

“Over the Edge” is the title of the Pearcy/Gratzmiller Jazz Quintet’s debut album. It contains 10 original compositions written over the course of nearly a decade by co-leaders Wayne Pearcy (Trumpet) and Aaron Gratzmiller (Saxophone). Joining them is an outstanding rhythm section comprised of Matt Savage on Piano, Greg Toro on Upright Bass, and Fabio Rojas on Drum Set. It was recorded on October 4th and 5th, 2017 at Keep the Edge Studios in Quincy, MA, and was engineered by Keith Asack.

The objective in making “Over the Edge” was to record a contemporary sounding full-length album that continues in the tradition of straight ahead Jazz. The music is constructed using Bebop and Blues vocabulary while often experimenting with modern forms and improvisation techniques. The goal of each person involved with this project was to create an energetic, soulful, nuanced, and somewhat unpredictable experience for the listener. “Over the Edge” is available now on CD Baby, iTunes, Apple Music, Spotify, Amazon, and Google Play (plus many more).