I am honored to be starting teaching at Saint Anselm College in Manchester, NH this January.  This is an exciting opportunity and it’s not far from where I grew up.  I’m proud to be a part of the faculty at both Saint Anselm and at Bunker Hill Community College in Boston.

The Matt Savage Groove Experiment’s debut project, Splash Variations, is available now.  And I also have two new albums as a sideman – Le Rêve-The Dream by singer/pianist Christie Kanska and Over the Edge by the Pearcy/Gratzmiller Jazz Quintet.

There’s a lot going on this year, so please visit my Blog section for more updates.  And please check out the Music section to hear musical samples.  Enjoy and hope to see you on the road…

“The Savage Life Chose Me” – split-screen quartet video:
The Savage Life Chose Me Thumbnail


“Sunny (For Sonny)” music video, with the Groove Experiment:
Sunny for Sonny Thumbnail


“I Know That You Know” (Matt Savage Trio):
I Know That You Know Thumbnail


“Splash Variations” Album Trailer:
Splash Variations Trailer Thumbnail


“Got to Get You Into My Life” Live in Boston:
Got to Get You Into My Life Thumbnail


“Escalator Music” with the Groove Experiment:
Escalator Music Thumbnail


“Go On” Live in Japan 2015:
Go On Japan Thumbnail



Stay Home 2020

Hello friends.  I hope that you are all staying safe through this..

Asia 2018

I had such a wonderful trip in Asia this summer that I don't even know where to..

Europe 2017

  In May and June 2017, I had a special opportunity to visit..


Matt Savage Groove Experiment Splash Variations Released December 7, 2018

Splash Variations is the debut EP of the Matt Savage Groove Experiment, the new jazz fusion project from pianist/composer Matt Savage. Half of the tunes from this new band are instrumental, and half are vocal – but there’s also a tune where the entire lyrics are just “Splash!”

Nine musicians in total are featured on this release - a core instrumental quintet plus several special guests. The group is also augmented by vocalist Robbie Pate, who appears on two tracks, including a “funkified” version of the classic standard “All the Things You Are.”

The medley of “#SPLASH” and “Splash in G Major” forms the centerpiece of the album, while “Arigato” is a touching jazz waltz tribute to a recently departed drummer. The concluding track, “IDGAF,” is a long instrumental jam that features a distorted guitar solo, a trombone solo, and Matt Savage on both piano and electric piano.

Splash Variations is the thirteenth release from Savage Records, and the start of a fresh new sound from Matt Savage. The Groove Experiment will also be touring in the next few months to accompany the release of the new album.

Matt Savage - piano, keyboards
Aaron Gratzmiller - tenor and soprano sax
Michael Wang - trombone, recorder
Albino Mbie, Javier Rosario - guitar
James Heazlewood-Dale, Soso Gelovani - bass
Juan Mejia - drums
Robbie Pate - vocals

Preview Now